The Tour de Yorkshire



Time: All day
Location: Yorkshire

Tour de Yorkshire 1

The second annual Tour de Yorkshire (following the successful foray into Yorkshire of the Tour de France in 2014) will take place from the 29th April to the 1st May 2016 with 18 teams of 8 cyclists travelling all over Yorkshire in a nail-biting 3 day race.

Stage 1 (on the 29th April) will see the peloton travel 185 km from Beverley to Settle while Stage 2 (on the 30th April) follows a route between Otley and Doncaster.  Stage 3 (on 1stMay) will take in much of the North York Moors National Park as riders journey from Middlesbrough to Scarborough, climbing over many of the region’s impressive hills, including Sutton Bank, Blakey Ridge and Grosmont (one of the stations on the popular North York Moors National Railway where in 2015 riders were welcomed with a special steam salute).

This final stage, which also travels through Helmsley and Whitby, has a special sportive option which means thousands of amateur riders can also take part, following a route which uses many of the same roads as the professional racers.